A (random) side effect….

So there are obvious downsides, for some people this happens – others are lucky and don’t have any symptoms (those people are what i like to call bastards – no offence to the bastards – i like you but i am envious of you), that being the shitty nausea which i am now getting, after 9 weeks (i think that’s a karma based bi-product from me saying “no, i feel really good this time around, actually”), the random dislike for foods that usually i would love, the fatness OHHHH the fatness….  The one that sneaks up on me though is the vision impairment – i look like i am stoned off my tit when it’s happening but there is a legit thing called Ocular Migraine.  It’s very sporadic and I only had it happen once when i carried Billy, and that was late pregnancy whilst i was driving (not the safest place to be when you lose parts of your sight).

This time around, It’s happened 3 times already and it’s soooo annoying.

I don’t know why it happens (i guess i could google it, but lets face it – i’d rather search ‘Nursery ideas’ than get onto Web MD), however the first time it happened was Christmas Day. I kept it to myself for the first 10 minutes, then one of my sister’s asked me what the eff i was doing when i was moving my hand slowly across my face like i was in some kind of mime – it’s not an easy symptom to explain “i can’t see my hand”, sounds a bit over dramatic, “I’m seeing spots and colors and missing sight” sounds as though I’ve taken a bad LSD trip… but i said both none the less.  It passes after about 20 minutes but it’s so distracting.

Happened again last night when i was watching Dr Phil reruns, for those of you who really know me know that this would have ruined my night – bits of his face were missing, instead replaced with colored dots.  It also makes me feel very dizzy with the psychedelic patterns and colors so i had to close my eyes and just listen to the soothing tones of Philip McGraw and his hillbilly guests.

Anyway this is certainly something I’d never heard of or knew about before it happened to me so thought i would raise it for awareness as I am all about passing the knowledge on (a bit like no-one wants to talk about the ol’ plug until you’re pregnant – but we’ll get to that later)….

If you really are a little bit curious, here are some fun facts:

A migraine that involves visual disturbance is called an ocular migraine. Ocular migraines can develop with or without the accompanying pain of a classic migraine.

During an ocular migraine, or migraine with aura, you may see flashing or shimmering lights, zigzagging lines, or stars. Some people describe psychedelic images. It may also cause blind spots in your field of vision. Of people who report having migraines, one out of every five experiences this aura.

 

Ocular migraines can interfere with your ability to perform tasks like reading, writing, or driving. Symptoms are temporary and an ocular migraine is not considered a serious condition.

(http://www.healthline.com/health/causes-of-ocular-migraines)

2 thoughts on “A (random) side effect….

  1. Holy cow! I had no idea this could even happen! I get it though my mum has lost most of the vision in one eye and only has tunnel vision in another, and its scary! I cant think of anything more frightening then to lose sight and be sitting there, just waiting for your vision to come back.

    Like

    • The first time it happened I was looking at an excel spreadsheet with bright colours and BAM my eyes started playing tricks on me – it was so random, that lasted a good 40 minutes or so and I drove home from work thinking “this is not right, i should drive straight to a doctor or optometrist, but then it stopped. So then i was thinking “the docs will think I’m crazy”. I didn’t know how to explain it – you look at something and random bits of what you are focusing on disappears behind black spots and I guess when I think about it it’s perhaps a fraction of what tunnel vision is like because parts of the peripheral vision goes – and it is so so unnerving. All i can say is, your poor mum!

      Like

Leave a Reply

